Tamara Salajová - honourable mention in the TAB Vision Competition
Created: 26. 9. 2019 from Vysoká škola uměleckoprůmyslová v Praze

Tamara Salajová, a student from the Studio of Architecture III at UMPRUM, won honourable mention from the International Biennale of Architecture in Tallinn in the TAB Vision Competition.

The jury from TAB 2019 awarded her project "Self-sufficient habitat" with an honourable mention. The competition seeks to discover new architectural aesthetics through habitats and break down established architectural approaches. One of the goals was to address the shared ecosystem and the relationship of people interacting with nature, with the organic and inorganic. The task of contestants was to create an environment of shared and private habitats for work and life, to design living and the surrounding environment for all generations where they could grow up, play and learn. The competition aimed to find an escape from dull and unobtrusive architecture and find new concepts for alternative ways of life.

We are living in a world full of technologies that are increasingly influencing our basic daily needs. We don’t go shopping, the groceries are brought to us. Technologies and services make our lives much easier, but we become dependent on them. This is why Tamara Salajová decided to make self-sufficient units. The units are proposed in two variants. The first is optional, with two floors - that can manifest and become two separate small flats or a single-family house. The second is the size of a normal flat. The structure is built not brick by brick, but unit by unit. The idea is to make construction cheaper so that the flats will be more affordable for society. The units are connected via exterior paths, which serve as streets or squares where people can meet and spend time.

About 80 projects from around the world entered the competition including - Russia, Japan, China, Australia, Israel, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, France, Italy, Holland, Belgium, Spain, Great Britain, USA, and Estonia. 3 main prizes were awarded and 4 honorable mentions were recognized.